Public Library Announces Summer Reading Program

The Summer Reading Program for Laguna Madre Children~Dig Up a Good Book!

The 2011 Texas Reading Club, “Libraries: Dig Up a Good Book!” provides opportunities for children of all ages to enjoy reading.

This self-paced reading program allows children to participate at their own reading level. A log will be provided to each child to track the books they read. In addition to reading, the library will have special guests who will inspire you to, dig up Jean Lafitte’s pirate loot and dig up Fortune Cookie history.

Location: Port Isabel Public Library, 213 N. Yturria St., Port Isabel
Registration: Tues., May 31 through Tues., June 7
Parents must register their children at the library.

PROGRAM DATES:
June 7 Tuesday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Texas Tarantulas
June 8 Wednesday 2:30 pm-4:30 pm Mary Ann Tous – Sea Turtles
June 9 Thursday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Dinosaurs & Dino Movie
June 14 Tuesday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Magic Tricks
June 15 Wednesday 2:30 pm-4:30 pm Dan Topp – Chinese History
June 16 Thursday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Hispanic Culture & Chalupa
June 21 Tuesday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Grass Seed
June 22 Wednesday 2:30 pm-4:30 pm Andrea Hollman – Jewelry
June 23 Thursday 9:30 am-10:30 am Digging up Books & Book Markers
June 28 Tuesday 2:30 pm-4:30 pm Turn in Reading Logs Library Party!

Deadline for Reading Logs: Tuesday, June 28

End of Program Celebration: On, Tuesday June 28, children are invited to a day of fun with food, drinks, prizes & games.. Every child who participates in the Summer Reading Program will receive a certificate signed by the State Librarian, Peggy Rudd, bearing his or her name.

This free program is co-sponsored by the City of Port Isabel and the Friends of the Port Isabel Public Library.

For more information contact:
Marilyn Ponder, Children’s Librarian
956-943-0778
mponder@copitx.com